The Five Love Languages

The Five Love Languages is a book written by Gary Chapman. According The Five Love Languages, people give and receive love in one of five ways. Most couples don’t realize that they don’t speak the same love language. The key to a successful relationship is identifying how you prefer to give and receive love as well as how your spouse prefers to give and receive love.

 The Five Love Languages

Image courtesy of ntwowe/

Theory Behind the Five Love Languages

According to The Five Love Languages, a couple must learn how to show love in a way that their partner feels love. When people learn what their spouse’s love language is, they are able to effectively communicate their love in a way that their partner can receive it.

When couples have been together for a long time, it is natural for their romantic feelings to fade. One of the best ways to keep those passionate feelings alive is to speak your spouse’s language of love.

What are the Five Love Languages? 

The five love languages are: words of affirmation, quality time, gifts, acts of service and physical touch. Each person speaks one primary love language that allows them to feel the most loved. For example, one person may feel most loved while holding hands while another may feel most loved when their spouse offers praise.

People shouldn’t give love the same way they enjoy receiving it. Instead, learning which of the five love languages is your partner’s primary language can help you effectively give love. 

Books about the Five Love Languages

Although the original book, The Five Love Languages, referred to love between partners, he has since expanded his concept. Gary Chapman has also written books about the five love languages of children and teenagers as well as the five love languages of appreciation in the workplace.

The Five Love Languages